Skip to main content

New Leadership Press Release 2018


Election Results Announced by United Way of Medina County
Officers, New and Renewing Trustees

Medina, Ohio

United Way of Medina County held a special meeting of its Board of Trustees on May 4, 2018 for the election of new and renewing trustees and the organization’s officers. Chief Executive Officer Cheryl Parzych said “Welcoming new and continuing trustees always gives a clear signal of our county’s commitment to helping our neighbors overcome obstacles and live self-sufficient lives.” Shibu Joykutty, who is entering his final year as Board Chairman, led the election process.

Newly-elected Trustees entering a three-year term are: Kimberly Corrigan, Pearlview Rehab & Wellness Center
Already a member of the Taste of Medina County Event Committee, Women United® and a contributor to the E4JDC Program -which educates youth about their own strengths and engages them in an exploration of potential career paths- Kim is improving lives through United Way. Her enthusiasm for the community will have a deeper channel with board service.

Rick Dumperth, Wolff Bros. Supply, Inc.
Dumperth currently serves as Co-Chair of the Community Impact Committee, which is charged with understanding community needs in education, health, income, and basic needs, then recommending and monitoring investment in community programs. This hits the core of United Way’s work, and Rick’s addition as a trustee will strengthen that focus on the board.

Frank Graziano, A.I. Root Company
Though a relatively new resident of Medina County, Graziano is no stranger to United Way, having served previously on the Board of Directors for another United Way. His professional experience and role with a renowned local company, with strong community values, positions Frank well for meaningful contribution.

Drew Liebrecht, 3M
A responsible learner and achiever by nature, Liebrecht serves on the Employing Medina County Advisory Committee, Volunteer Engagement Committee and NEXTGeneration Leaders Committee. Progressing to board-level service will enable Drew to use his many talents to help United Way achieve greater impact.

Mary Ogden, Ogden Post Consulting Group LLC
As a business owner, Mary brings a perspective and insight shared by many of United Way’s strongest supporters and advocates. As Chair of the Employing Medina County Advisory Committee, Mary is helping unemployed and underemployed people achieve self-sufficiency through employment.

Tom Schmidt, Pfizer
A long-standing member of United Way’s Community Impact Committee, Youth Coalition and a United Way Youth Venture volunteer, Tom is an experienced advocate for community investment to help youth succeed in life. Directing his community dedication to board service will expand Schmidt’s reach, helping to keep donations working hard for Medina County residents.

Also beginning service:
Mallory Houdek
, Cleveland Clinic-Medina Hospital
As Chair of the United Way of Medina County’s NEXTGeneration Leaders Committee, Houdek is welcomed as a Trustee. Serving as the first NEXTGeneration Leaders Committee Chair is a key assignment as it is a strategically critical group focused on developing community leadership and engagement among those in their twenties and thirties. Medina County’s future will be directly impacted by this work.

Kathleen Taylor, United Way of Greater Cleveland
As Trustee, Kathy represents our United Way partner and is the Associate Vice President of the Executive Office. This partnership is critical to success and efficiency in Medina County, and her long record of professional nonprofit service will add depth and perspective to the board.

Trustees who exemplify community leadership renew for a second three-year term:
Erich Homes, Ernst & Young

Dedicated trustee leader, serving as VP of Community Impact Carrie Park, Leadership Medina County Leader of United Way’s signature special event Taste of Medina County Jennifer Watson, The Ruhlin Company Chair of Volunteer Engagement Committee

Officers re-elected for 2018-19 are:

  • Chair Shibu Joykutty, Westfield Group/Westfield Insurance
  • Chair-Elect Nick Hanek, Hanek Law Office LLC
  • Treasurer Charlene Rericha, FirstEnergy
  • Vice President of Resource Development Division Mark Priebe, Proximity Marketing
  • Vice President of Community Impact Erich Holmes, Ernst & Young

A strong United Way of Medina County Board of Trustees helps create more significant community impact, and the organization continually looks for people who are willing and able to take on leadership roles. For more information on how you can be involved, please contact Cheryl Parzych at 330-725-3926.



United Way of Medina County has served the local community for more than 80 years and is the largest nonprofit, private-sector funder of health and human services in the county. United Way of Medina County hosts annual fundraising campaigns and works year-round to advance the common good in education, income (financial stability) and health. For more information, visit